Ann Leckie Wins 2014 Arthur C. Clarke Award

Posted on May 5, 2014

Ann Leckie is the winner of the 2014 Arthur C. Clarke Award for her debut novel, Ancillary Justice, which is published by Orbit Books. Leckie was presented with the award at the Royal Society, London.

Arthur C. Clarke Award Director Tom Hunter said in the announcement, "There's always something extra special when a new or first time writer wins a prize like the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and Ancillary Justice is very special indeed. I have personally been recommended this book more times than any other last year, always by people whose opinions I trusted, and what has been really interesting to me is that the people making those recommendations were people I would usually think of as having all kinds of different kinds of tastes in their science fiction reading. Clearly this explains all of the attention Ancillary Justice has been getting across the field of SF awards, and I couldn't be more delighted to see Ann join the ranks of Arthur C. Clarke winners."

Ancillary Justice has also been nominated for a Hugo Award in the best novel category. It also won the Kitschies Golden Tentacle prize for best first novel and the British Science Fiction Association award for best novel, along with Gareth L. Powell's Ack Ack Macaque. You can read the first chapter from Ancillary Justice here.

The 2014 Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist include the following books:

More from Watchers Watch