Countdown City Wins 2014 Philip K. Dick Award

Posted on May 1, 2014

Countdown City by Ben H. Winters is the winner of the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award. The novel is the second entry in the Last Policeman trilogy. Earth has just 77 days remaining before an asteroid arrives. A women seeks detective Hank Palace's help to find her missing husband as society is failing around them.

A special citation was given to Self-Reference Engine by Toh EnJoe, trans. Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru).

The award winners were announced at Norwescon 37, in SeaTac, Washington. The annual award is given to a distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time in the prior year. It is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust. This year's judges were Jon Armstrong, Ritch Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon, and Michaela Roessner.

More from Watchers Watch