J.J. Abrams and Lucasfilm Announce Cast of Star Wars: Episode VII

Posted on April 29, 2014

Star Wars Episode VII cast at Pinewood Studios

J.J. Abrams and Lucasfilm have announced the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, and Harrison Ford from the original films are all returning. Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars. The cool photograph above was also released. It shows J.J. Abrams and the cast at a read-through of the script at Pinewood Studios.

In the above photo, Abrams is located in the top center. R2D2 can be seen in a box behind him. The photo also includes: (clockwise from right) Harrison Ford, Daisy Ridley, Carrie Fisher, Peter Mayhew, Producer Bryan Burk, Lucasfilm President and Producer Kathleen Kennedy, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Mark Hamill, Andy Serkis, Oscar Isaac, John Boyega, Adam Driver and Writer Lawrence Kasdan.

J.J. Abrams said in a statement, "We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

Filming is expect to begin very soon, so the cast announcement was expected. There has been much speculation over the casting, especially during the past few months. The film is set for a December 18, 2015 release.

Photo: David Jones

More from Watchers Watch